A Month Without Coffee

Posted: March 31, 2011 in Uncategorized

I have started drinking coffee right after college. The demand for long and punishing hours of study for my CPA review cannot simply be accommodated by drinking Milo everyday. I’ve been used to drinking something before I start my day’s work. I have to tap on Nescafe 3-in-1 to keep me awake for at least two hours of assured wakefulness deep in the night. Before I knew it I found myself addicted to coffee.

My days were not complete without the warmth of coffee and its soothing aroma. Its bittersweet taste is like a music to my tongue. Everyday before I begin my day I make sure I have a cup of it. At work I make a cup or two to myself to keep the boredom away. Sometimes when I have to stay late at night I make another. Those were the days of my workaholic life where I found refuge and comfort in a cup of coffee.

The result of this caffeine addiction leads to my body blowing up. I didn’t have much time to exercise in my first job and more often than not I indulge myself doing less physical activities like reading, malls, church and work. The results were obvious I ballooned up to 75kgs at one point, almost 25% bigger than my average weight in college. It felt horrible to feel slow, get hungry more often and endure the reaction from my old friends “Oi Les tumaba ka ah” shit!

I quit my job, transferred to Cebu and there I discovered running. I started to drop some pounds as the months go by. But I cant seem to drop my weight the way I had in college no matter how much exercise I exert. I tried veggie diet, meat diet, pan de sal diet, and work diet. But I cant still drop that remaining nasty excess weight.

Then one day I saw my Nescafe mug laughing at me. So I ask him if he is the last piece to solve the mystery. Try me, he replied. So I decided to have the program not to drink a single drop of coffee for the entire month of March.

Today is the last day of March madness, NCAA’s Final Four is about to take place, summer has officially began and I have been true to my coffee fasting all this weeks. It was hard. I have to settle back to Milo everyday again to fill in the gap. I missed coffee a lot. But the results is staggering. I have my body back! I’m down to Sub70kilos. Of course I wouldn’t have done it without exercise and the carenderia diet.

Today is a pay-day. Now I can go back to drinking coffee but on a limited basis. I’ll pay my bills and I’m planning to add a ridiculous Starbucks order to that. Hey I have to reward myself for a job well done. Oh April here I come and I think the time is right to move on now. I have to begin the polishing my drawing skill by having a 1 Drawing a Day Program.

*   *   *

And oh by the way, looks like the trickiest part of my 2011 BucketList for 2011 is now a thing of the past. I just made the Youngblood column of the Philippine Daily Inquirer today! It’s a dream come true for me to finally appear in that column. I’m finally now a writer, here’s the evidence. I submitted three or four entries since but I never expected they’d choose it.

 

Comments
  1. irishprecious says:

    Double celebration! 😀 Congrats on losing weight and on your article! And I will be waiting for those artworks. 🙂

    By the way, you work at Crown Regency Hotel? My workmates who were assigned in Cebu last weekend stayed there. I was assigned in Davao kasi, baka next time Cebu naman.:P

  2. lapiskamay says:

    Thank you IRish. hehe. its a blessed week for me. I hope i’ll make good at drawing too.
    Yes, i’m working there since January. wow what’s the name of your company? You are in Davao now? nice place. But this summer season i’ll be assigned indefinitely in Boracay.
    Punta ka dito sa Cebua!

  3. tot says:

    i’m so proud of you les…

  4. irishprecious says:

    That was my old blog!hahaha Nagkamali ng log in. LOL

    Thanks thanks. 🙂 I’ll make a separate blog post about my new job one of these days pag ndi na busy. 😛

Leave a Reply

