Then I Draw Again

Posted: July 12, 2011 in Drawing
Tags: , , ,

Lately there have been a series of events that lead me straight back to the drawing board again. It feels like all the universe conspires to make it happen (from Paulo Coelho).

It started when Hermes Alegre, a great artist from Camarines Sur, visited my workplace last month to do some designing stuff in the hotel facilities. He was a very friendly and sociable person that I had no problem approaching him when I saw him drew a portrait of Miss Mars (one of the most interesting ladies I met in the island, astig-gasin eh!). He’s presence is overwhelming and full of confidence like someone who views the world as a majestic art piece and the reason he’s  born is to appreciate and share its beauty. Hermes is a man of art.  His aura speaks for himself as his hands slowly but surely created a figure in the piece of paper.

A few weeks after he left the impact of his presence lingers on inside as if an idea was created and keeps growing every day. Finally I met someone that embodies my deepest answer to that childhood question “What do you want to be when you grow up?”  I added him in facebook and left him a note of appreciation. But to my surprise he not only accepted my friend request but also left another hammering idea that penetrated to the soul. He wants me to draw again and given me an assignment he will check when he goes back to the island.

So now I am drawing once again. He didn’t encourage me – he inspired me. These three drawings are the results in my first week into the drawing board. Doing these pieces gives me so much happiness and contentment I never felt in a long time. I feel like an artist!

My love story with drawing has been a long engagement of ON and OFF. The latter have won the last few years, hey blame it on me pursuing a degree and building a career that has no connections whatsoever with what I want to do with my life. My present job is my breadwinner. I don’t have to say I like it or not as long as it is feeding my stomach and gives me social responsibility. All I know is that I love to draw.

Btw, I would like to grab this opportunity to greet Miss Mars a resounding Bon Voyage! (and happy independence day).  Goodluck in your next destination pare at sana wag na tayong magkita para di ako makalibre sa Hama. hahaha

P.S. 1 There is one great truth on this planet: whoever you are, or whatever it is that you do, when you really want something, it’s because that desire originated in the soul of the universe…. The soul of the world is nourished by people’s happiness. – Paulo Coelho

 P.S. 2 Thanks to the guys behind the Boracay Sun newspaper for publishing my fan letter to them. I really appreciate it. I’m cooking something to contribute for next month’s issue!

Comments
  1. irishprecious says:

    This is really good, Lester. 🙂

    And yeah, I know how it feels to have an ON-OFF relationship with a hobby. It’s kinda frustrating really.haha But we shouldn’t stop! 🙂 Good luck on your pieces. Looking forward to see more of them.

  2. lapiskamay says:

    I’m glad you appreciated my works. Thank you.
    Hobbies are lifebloods. you forget them and its a bad life to bear. hehe.
    I’ll see what I can draw in the next sessions. Work is killing me. ^_^

  3. […] despite of the hectic schedule, somehow I was able to develop the ‘itch’ in my hand to draw again, and I think I have never really recovered since. And I’m not planning to find a cure for […]

Leave a Reply

