This is the last installment of my Kalibo Trilogy chronicling a day’s backpacking trip in Kalibo, Aklan. I run out of words to narrate my final destination, the one where I landed inside the campus of Albasan Elementary School in the neighboring town of Numancia, Aklan. So I’ll let the pictures do the talking instead.

The place was featured in the Philippine Daily Inquirer a couple of months ago (click here to read the article). It’s about a cluster of century old acacia trees filled with mysticism and haunting folklore. I vowed to visit the place one day. And so I did.

Standing there at the foot of those old trees feels like I was in Middle-Earth where hobbits, dwarves and elves exist…

I got this inspiration to post about big trees and magical places when I stumbled upon Ashley Gosiengfiao‘s tumblr post titled “Tinier Me” featuring her big sister Alodia cosplaying as an elfen maiden. The whole I was in that place I cant help but imagine how lovely it is to behold the sisters having a pictorial there, Alodia posing as the beautiful elf maiden Lady Arwen of The Lord of the Rings (or that costume below) and Ashley behind the camera. I hope this humble post get to them and by great luck convince them to take this sidetrip the next time they visit Boracay!

The two pictures below are taken from Ashley’s tumblr account. All rights reserved.

Comments
  1. PM says:

    OM those photos look magnificent! sorry for the big word but they are beautiful! i wish i can enhance photos like that! but knowing that these sentinels do exist for real makes me want to wish to see them for myself and maybe strike a fairy pose or two too 🙂

    • lapiskamay says:

      gee Thanks! wow naman alam talaga na enhanced ang photos. hehe. I am using an old version of Cybershot, point and shoot at the rawest, kaya sagad ang photoshop sa mga pix. hehehe. Oh pls come over in Boracay one day, its only an hour’s drive away. Ang bring your costume!

Leave a Reply

