Wake Me Up When December Ends

Posted: December 2, 2011 in Boracay Chronicles, Events
Tags: , , , , ,

https://lapiskamay.files.wordpress.com/2011/12/baer16.jpg?w=300

There’s one sure place you don’t want to end up spending your Christmas at – in an island alone. Great, because that’s exactly where I am now.

Look, Miss December has finally come and I wish she hasn’t come when I’m still in this ragged mess. I’m freakin’ not ready for the holidays. Please come back again another day, other better days. I am personally not looking forward enjoying it this time. I am readying myself for what could be the worst Christmas of a lifetime. I can’t go home to spend it with my family. I can’t be there to hold the hands of the woman I love. I will not be there to carry my lovely god-daughter on her baptismal on Christmas eve. And I will not be there to share the wacky Christmas moments and foolishness with my siblings.

Good luck to me.

And I have this health issue (don’t tell my mom). The past month has been a turbulent cycle of fever, colds and coughs. I’m going to sue Solmux for being ineffective. I think the number of days I got sick in Boracay was more than the past five years combined.   The bad-ass factor is that no matter the sickness of the night, I’m still working. I don’t know how I managed. But why do I get sick more often?

Oldboy movie poster

I got my answer when I watched the Korean revenge movie “Oldboy”, the 2004 Cannes Filmfest winner.  The main guy was imprisoned for 15 years without knowing why, by the time he was released he fainted and got sick a lot. He explained that it’s due to lack of exposure to sunlight that results to less Vitamin A and E body intake. That’s bad news for the immune system. I realized we were on the same page.

All I have this Christmas is work, my PC and my cubicle. I heard the company Christmas party was cancelled. I wish I have a reliever for the night shift so I can go spelunking to the Beach Front parties and grab a life (or some foreigners). But I do look forward to the prospect of receiving a gift from a complete stranger thanks to PM’s Kris Kringle. My tradition of giving a gifts and Christmas cards to my loved ones will of course continue even though I’m away. LBC and JRS Express will be so happy to hear that. That’s why I’ll be having a 3-day trip to Ilo-ilo starting tomorrow to buy stuffs to give away. I think I can afford now to buy myself a laptop.

There are only 24 hours in a day. 12 hours of night I work, the remaining half is daylight, that’s the time I sleep and do little personal things. I have been oversleeping from 9-11 hours to rest. It’s still not enough. So I wish I could just skip this month and go hibernate like a polar bear in the North Pole. Maybe Santa can wake me up when December ends.

Comments
  1. PM says:

    oh hang in there. i know it can be a drag but don’t give in. maybe you can find things that can make you happy besides all the circumstances. kaya mo yan! and it is cool gift hunting ka na. enjoy!

    • lapiskamay says:

      hello PM, sorry now pa ako nkareply. thank you for taking the pain of reading this post. dont mind this kinds of crap. dont listen to me. puro kadramahan lang yan. hehehe.
      …yup been there already in Ilo-ilo city, lots of gifts already. hehehe. I did enjoy the trip.

  2. lapiskamay says:

    thank you Miss Ayla! I really need those nowadays. ^_^

Leave a Reply

