We are just a few days before we say goodbye to 2011 and it’s already the perfect time to  list down out favourite movies for 2011. However, I am not yet finished with my list so I’m going to direct our attention to the movies that I am so watching in the big screen next year. I realized that Batch 2012 is one hell of a pack all coming in in one single year, it’s virtually ground breaking. The anticipation level has never been this good for movie goers and film nerds alike. The front acts of are the sequel to a megablockbuster superhero franchise, a prequel to one of the greatest trilogy, a powerhouse team of superheroes, lots big budget adapations, finally the Bond 23, some sequels, some reboots and a whole lot of fun.

My favourite movie website, Collider.com, has recently posted their 15 Most Anticipated Blockbusters of 2012. I never expected my list would sound so close to theirs, and I have to give credit to them for the pictures for my convenience. So gear up movie goers for this exclusive preview of the movies coming our way in the Year of the Dragon.

15. The Great Gatsby

leonardo-dicaprio-the-great-gatsby-carey-mulligan-slice

 Why I have to watch this? I’m a fan of literary classics turned into films (just remember Atonement, Pride and Prejudice), and I also happen to like Leonardo Di Caprio and Tobey Maguire, joining them is the fast rising British actress Carey Mulligan (Never Let Me Go, An Education, Drive). And by the way the dude who made Moulin Rouge is the one who will direct this one.

14. The Amazing Spiderman

amazing-spider-man-movie-wallpaper-01

Why I have to watch this? I don’t actually like this idea of rebooting the whole Spidey trilogy instead of pursuing a fourth sequel. But the sheer idea of bringing in the eternally charming Emma Stone to play Gwen Stacey  (Spidey’s first love who died before he met MJ) and the (500) Days of Summer director Marc Webb into one Hail Mary shot of a film is a hard thing to ignore.

 

amazing-spider-man-movie-emma-stone-wallpaper-01

My super-crush for 2011, Emma Stone.

13. Prometheus

promethesus-movie-poster-teaser-slice-01

 Why I have to watch this? I was never a fan of the Alien franchise (which  this film is a sort of a prequel to those movies)  but I have to give credit for its creator Ridley Scott for giving us The Blade Runner and Gladiator. But under normal circumstances, this wouldn’t make this list if not because of one name – Michael Fassbender, the guy who played the young Magneto in X-Men: First Class. Big fan!

 

12. Taken 2

Why I have to watch this? Because I like the first one! And I am so excited to see Liam Neeson back for more ass-kicking in Europe.

11. Django Unchained

Why I have to watch this? For this I only have to name people: Quentin Tarantino, Jamie Foxx, Christoph Waltz, Leonardo DiCaprio, Samuel L. Jackson, Kurt Russell, Don Johnson, Sacha Baron Cohen and Joseph Gordon-Levitt. This is fantasy for the big boys.

sukiyaki-western-django-movie-image-quentin-tarantino-slice-01

Quentin Tarantino.

10. Skyfall

Why I have to watch this? It is a.k.a. Bond 23, Daniel Craig as the ragged James Bond is back and he’ll be facing toe-to-toe with Javier Bardem as thevillain. One more thing, this is not going to be a continuation of the shitty Quantom of Solace, which nobody cares about.

09. Jeremy Renner films

jeremy_renner_slice_01

Why I have to watch this? Aside for his coming (cameo) role for the Avenger, this dude will be grabbing the spotlight next year when he takes on Bourne Legacy and Handsel and Gretel: Witch Hunters.

Bourne Legacy will not be a continuation of the Matt Damon movies but would play another Jason Bourne in the same universe but coming from another brain-washing agency/project that is said to be more brutal and dangerous. Plus, in January the whole production will be coming here  in the Philippines where 40% of the story will take place! Handsel and Gretel will be a sort of Van Helsing-ish type of movie set 15 years after the fairytale where the siblings grows up to become with hunters. The lovely Gemma Arterton, my other crush, will play as Gretel.

hansel-gretel-witch-hunters-movie-image-ew-01

Meet Gretel and Handsel, children of Van Helsing?

 

08. Snow White vs Snow White

 Why I have to watch this? It’s a rare case to have a fairytale classic adapted into live-action film, but for next year we are not only getting one Snow White, but two. Mirror, Mirror will be battling it out with Snow White and the Huntsman. The former stars Julia Roberts as the Evil (actually its more of a bitchy) Queen with the up-and-coming Lilly Collins as Snow White. The latter is a marketing strategy that brings Twilight fangirls and Marvel followers to watch  one single movie, by casting Kristin Stewart (the ever-lousy Bella Swan) and Chris Helmsworth  (the mighty Thor!).

 

 

07. Abraham Lincoln films

abraham-lincoln-vampire-hunter-movie-poster-lenticular-teaser-slice

Why I have to watch this? If you love Steven Spielberg then watch his “Lincoln“, a biographical drama-film based on  Doris Kearns Goodwin‘s biography of Lincoln, Team of Rivals: The Political Genius of Abraham Lincoln. Oscar winner Daniel Day-Lewis will portray the starring role. But if  you like vampires and historical fantasy, then we have to line up  for Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter, which tells that the 16th president of the US of A is a secret vampire hunter! AL:VH is directed by Timur Bekmambetov (Wanted) and produced by Tim Burton, so expect it to be badass.

lincoln-daniel-day-lewis-movie-image-set-photo-slice-01

Daniel Day-Lewis on a set for 'Lincoln'.

06. Dark Shadows 

dark-shadows-movie-cast-image-slice-01

Why I have to watch this? Tim Burton and Johnny Depp are back for their eight collaboration. No need for more explanation. Guaranteed fun for the fans.

dark-shadows-set-photo-johnny-depp

Johnny Depp, portraying a vampire, looking about as creepy as you would expect him to look in a Burton film.

 

05. Hunger Games

hunger-games-movie-image-jennifer-lawrence-ew-scan-slice-01

Why I have to watch this? I don’t know why I should watch this but the book which the film is based is getting into my nerves nowadays, people are blogging for years now how great it is. Perhaps I also love Jennifer Lawrence as an emerging talent after her chilling performance in the film noir Winter’s Bone, forget about the X-man role. And the movie trailer was really atmospheric telling people that they mean business… even before showing the brutality, the chases and the killings.

 

04. Life of Pi 

Why I have to watch this? Now this is the one that makes my list unique from everybody’s wish list for 2012. Not much have been released about this film, no poster, no trailer, but only some fact that it is Ang Li (Brokeback Mountain, Crouching Tiger H. D.) is directing the film with an almost unknown lead and it will be shot in 3D. I can assure you this movie will rock, I’ve read the book written by Yann Martell and it’s really really good. It’s the story of a boy who got shipwrecked in the middle of the Pacific Ocean with only one companion –  Bengal tiger, one mean killing machine – and lived to tell the story. It’s one of my favorite books of all time

03. The Avengers

Why I have to watch this? They made 5 movies (2 Iron Man, Incredible Hulk, Capt. America and Thor) as trailers or some goddamn setup for this one big movie production, that’s how badass the imagination of those guys working at Marvel. It’s the ultimate movie for superhero movie fanatics, sort of dream come true for a boy growing up. Plus we’ve got to see more Scarlett Johansson in those catsuit, a certified bombshell material.

 

02. The Hobbit 

hobbit-unexpected-journey-movie-image-martin-freeman-slice-01

Why I have to watch this? It took them years to make this movie into production. And now it’s out and the waiting is almost over! Director Peter Jackson comes back to helm the Middle-Earth story set decades before the events of The Lord of the Rings. I’m a huge fan of the original LOTR books written by J.R. R. Tolkien, and I cant wait to read the book and watch the film adaptation in one year!

 

01. The Dark Knight Rises 

anne-hathaway-batman-tom-hardy-slice-01

Why I have to watch this? I dont really know if this one really needs some further explanations. But as a brief recap, this is the third and final Batman film from master director Christopher Nolan. It’s a follow up on 2008’s mega-blockbuster film The Dark Knight, which featured the megalomania The Joker, given breath by Heath Ledger who passed away shortly after. Ledger won the Oscar and probably one of the greatest villain portrayal in cinema history. The bad guys for this one is Bane, to be played by Tom Hardy, who might end up beating up Batman pretty badly for this one. Anne Hathaway joins the powerhouse ensemble as the frenemy Catwoman/Selena Kyle. This movie is the epic conclusion to the Dark Knight legend… this is going to be epic, this is going to be extremely badass.

 

the-dark-knight-rises-teaser-poster

 

SPECIAL THANKS TO THE COLLIDER. COM for the pictures and trailers and footages.

Comments
  1. Jim says:

    Yes – Life of Pi was an excellent book – I can’t wait to see how they do this on the screen however 3D is toilet in my opinion.

  2. PM says:

    i am so looking forward to watch the avengers. i am curious how it will look like, usually star studded films flip right? hopefully this one will do good. i am interested with how the life of pi will be turned to film. i liked the book. i just hope it will not be butchered by directors and producers for the sake of money. btw, i read your inquirer stuff. love the intro and the ending, brilliant.

    • lapiskamay says:

      Hi PM, thanks for dropping bye, I made massive editions just recently. hhahaha.
      I think avengers is in fairly safe hands because the story is already right there even before the Iron Man movie, so i thinks it is very well polished.. With Thor and Capt America this year, I cant imagine how creative and talented those guys at Marvel. I’m glad you have read my Youngblood article, I really appreciate na nagustuhan mo. thanks.

  3. katnip says:

    I’m suuuppppeerrr excited about the Hunger Games. I’m sure this movie is going to be great. It’s not surprising though that LIonsgate has already announced the release date for the sequel Catching Fire even before Hunger Games hits the big screen this March 23, 2012. I hope the film adaptation will not lose the essence and the main point of the books.

    • lapiskamay says:

      let’s cross our finger that the movie adaptation will rock. for the meantime pray for me that i may get a copy of the books. hahaha. i still got to read this, I’m so outdated. hehe.

  4. […] Lapiskamay’s Most Anticipated Movies of 2012 (lapiskamay.wordpress.com) […]

  5. […] Lapiskamay’s Most Anticipated Movies of 2012 (lapiskamay.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

