In a material perspective a professional license can only be another valid ID in your pocket. But that tiny little thing should he be worthy, means a lot to whoever wielding it. A license symbolizes a professional’s achievements in earning the right to practice that chosen profession in the open society. Before a person can even try to pursue it, one must make a decision so great it can change a person’s destiny that would define the rest of his life.  To earn that a young man must choose what college course to take, finish/survive it, take and pass the all-important super-nosebleed board exam, take oath and you got yourself one bloody professional license.

My parents chose the path to becoming a Certified Public Accountant, I’m not saying I didn’t like it, it just that I wasn’t so sure if I can excel on the things I love doing especially in arts and writing. We really couldn’t afford Art School. So I took it anyway.

The main reason I listed on my application for a two-week leave was to renew my CPA License which will expire on my 24th birthday next month (my God I’m feeling old). It’s been a thorn on my head, this renewal stuff because I don’t know how to renew it. Professionals, especially CPAs are required to earn CPE points (continuing professional education) through masteral courses, seminars, trainings, or taking up law school. But look I’m stuck in an island with a job working on unholy hours and day, there’s no way I could earn those points!  Ironically, the whole process only took about 20 minutes inside the PRC Office at Tacloban City.

Here’s a post dedicated to my fellow CPA Colleagues and professional in generals, especially to those young ones like me (ehem), on how to  renew that hard-earned license.

Step 1. Go to your nearest PRC (Professional Regulation Commission) Offices.

Step 2. Bring these requirements

  1. Duly accomplished form (provided at the entrance)
  2. Two (2) pcs. passport size picture: close-up, colored, plain white background, with complete name tag. PRC usually have photo booths for convenience.
  3. Photo/Xerox copy of recent professional ID card
  • In case of LOST professional ID card which is still current, the applicant shall submit a notarized affidavit of Loss
  • In case of DESTROYED professional ID card, the applicant shall surrender the destroyed card.

Step 3. Don’t ever forget to bring these important items.

  1. Money. Renewal fee for CPAs costs P450, plus surcharges I don’t know how much is that. Plus some extra money for photocopying stuffs and stamped envelopes. Remember, this is the only requirement that nobody in their right mind to borrow from other applicants.
  2. Ballpen. For obvious reasons.
  3. Paste. You got your picture, you filled up your papers, so stick them together.  Tip: Guys don’t bring this item, borrow it on the nearest pretty lady. I met and scored with girls a few times with this one.

Step 4.  Present duly accomplished Application for Professional ID form together with the requirements at respective windows. Make sure you got all the requirements and the forms correctly filled to avoid unnecessary delays.

Step 5. Pay prescribed fees at the Cashier. Don’t forget the Official Receipt

Step 6.  Get your claim slip.  The whole thing  was only the processing , the new CPA license will only be available after 2 to 3 months after filing for renewal. They will mail you the notification (that’s why you have to buy their stamped envelope) for you to claim the ID.

So that’s it. I hope I wasted enough minutes in your life that you’ll never get back in reading this post. Hahaha. World Peace amigos!

Comments
  1. chizcurlz says:

    Once your CPA license issued, it remains valid for two to three years depending on what state you are working in. To renew and maintain your license, you must take CPE for CPAs. Continuing Professional Education will let you be informed with current trends and latest developments in the field of public accounting.

  2. alvin says:

    cpe units is not reqired for renewal of CPA prc License is only required when you applying for BOA accreditation

  3. Julia_R says:

    Thanks, CPE is interesting but its costly… why does it take so long to get the renewed ID? can we just pay a fee to expedite it like in getting a passport. I read some blogs about paying P450 to get it the same day but its an Engineering ID.

  4. json says:

    Hndi na ba talga kelangan ang CPE para sa renewal ng CPA ID?

  5. IFE says:

    really? but why it stuck in my head that I need the CPE to renew the license… hehe anyway thanks to this thread, I will renew my ID this august.. 🙂

    • Lapiskamay says:

      Hi are you a CPA from the Philippines?
      because you only need the CPE points to renew your membership with PICPA, at the PRC just show your expired, ready your money, wait and comeback renwed thatyou can still practice our profession for the next 3 years. Goodluck!

Leave a Reply

