from the movie Reign of Fire

It’s the first day of February, and I won’t be posting kilig-kilig, and cheesy talks this time – at least not today. But I think I have some really nice romantic stories (or stories that talk about love) to tell and I am considering of posting them this month. Those are special. This post is probably not, just some personal trash I want to unload. And all of them have something to do with dragons, so here they are.  Open the trashcan!

No. 1 – The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo premiers today in Philippine cinemas.  I heard this is a great movie, of course it should be! I’ve been following the development of this movie since its conception when David Fincher (director of Social Network and The Curious Case of Benjamin Button) announced he was interested to make a Hollywood adaption and remake of the book and the Swedish film. That Fincher guy is no flincher, he’s a good story-teller and I’m a big fan of his. And put the current Agent 007 a.k.a. Daniel Craig in the lead, plus just 5 Oscar Nomination then for sure this movie is a must see – on DVD later this summer (darn there’s no cinema in Boracay).

No. 2 – I’m Reading the book of the movie mentioned above. Yeah I’m officially back in reading! 2011 book-fasting is now over and here I am taking on the noisiest book that tormented me that whole year. I so wanted to get a crack on what the hype is all about regarding this book written by late Stieg Larsson (poor dude he never saw his book invade the world), hopefully this wont disappoint because I’m putting extra effort by reading digitally on .pdf format, because not a single copy of this one was available in every Cebu bookstore last month!

What a poor book design..very promising.

No. 3 – I got myself a dragon tattoo. Yeah I’m now the dude with the dragon tattoo. It’s nothing permanent really, just a henna tattoo. I haven’t photographed myself yet, but anyway I won’t be uploading it anyway because my father would probably kill me if he saw it. Hahaha. I’m planning to add another one next week. Here’s the design of what I already got and what I will be getting with.

the dude with the dragon tattoos

No. 4 – My coming drawing project will be How To Do Draw Your Dragons. Have you seen the 2010 movie How To Train Your Dragons (by the way its no Pixar, its Dreamworks)? At the end of the movie during the end credits there that pretty cool display of the concept arts and illustration of the dragons (see the video below). I think the strokes suited my drawing style. I’ll go take a crack on how to draw ‘em,  and then I’ll post my work and some tips on to get it done without making the dragons look like a lizard. You guys can kill me if I don’t post about it this month. Haha.

No. 5 – Game of Thrones Season 1 ends with fire! I just finished watching the first season of the HBO series Game of Thrones. It turns out the series indeed met and surpassed the hype, expectations and the overwhelming  campaign coming in to the series last summer. I really enjoyed this one and I’ll be looking forward on making a series review for this one. And yes therewere dragons during the finale. This is real bad-ass material.

No. 6 –  The dragon is turning 24 in the year of the dragon. I was born during the Year of the Earth Dragon two decades ago (Ok, and a little more), and coincidentally I share the same birthdate of my idol Lourd De Veyra just a few more days before the Valentines Day (thanks God we’re both crazy and extremely talented nyahahayabang). Oh syet, I’m getting old!

And here’s my horoscope to make this garbage post a little Valentine-ish  (please don’t believe a single word, OK?):

Comments
  1. PM says:

    ano ba to pang akit ng good vibes sa taon ng dragon? 😀

  2. lapiskamay says:

    parang ganun narin cguro. pero mga basura parin to na dapat idisplay dito. hahaha. puro nalang kasi dragon ang pumapalibot sa akin. haha.
    sana suswertihin ako this year!

  3. Jacklyn Belo says:

    Your horoscope sounds true 🙂

  4. lapiskamay says:

    hi jackie. di nga. hahaha. puro flattery hahhaha at hindi binanggit ang mga magic words to define me. haha.

  5. wow.I was born in the year of earth dragon too. 😀

  6. Addie says:

    Go get inked for real!

  7. jlapis says:

    I saw the original girl with the dragon tattoo film. Cant wait to watch the new version! And by the way, I agree with Addie, get inked na!

    • lapiskamay says:

      I saw the ‘Hollywoodized’ version., my goodness it was brilliant! di ko inexpect ganun kagaling kahit alam ko namang magaling ang director. hehe. you’ll be satisfied with that one. All right, all right, i’ll get inked tomorrow. hahaha

Leave a Reply

