Books: a ‘luxury’ most Filipino’s are not known to be fond of, well that’s what a writer said in a controversial Youngblood article last week. But for me I simply love books, read’s ’em before any accounting books. I love to hear good stories and perhaps that’s all there is why I read. I’m no nerd nor a bookworm, but reading is just one of the (many) things I’m passionate about. Thanks God reading have given me unexpected gifts in writing and all-around creativity. And let’s face it, reading makes a person smarter.

Last year, I skipped reading. Now I missed reading, so as part of my Daredevil Goals for 2012 year I’m attempting to read 20 books in the Year of the Dragon. For now I am  already locked on these 15 books that ranges from classics to modern bestsellers, film adaptations to soon-to-be-adapted, popular and unheard of (I guess), three Japanese novels, two non-fictions and the rest are pure fictions. Here they are:

1. The Hobbit – J. R. R. Tolkien. I’m forever fascinated with the world of the Lord of the Rings in both books and films, and this book tells the great  adventures of Bilbo Baggins before the events in LOTR. I’m currently reading this.. since the past month and I’m still on page fifty, haha. Can’t wait for the movie adaptation in December.

2. The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald. I’m only reading this because of the upcoming adaptation (again). When I learned that Leonardo di Caprio, Carey Mulligan (oh Carey..) and Toby McGuire is on the cast, I suddenly went nuts for this book. I got no copy yet.

3. Mr. Popper’s Penguins –  Richard and Florence Atwater. Twenty books in one year is no walk in the park, I’m a busy man most of the time and well, I need some short timers. That’s why it’s on top of the list. Bought it for only P35 ($ 0.75) and it’s a very thin book.

4. Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins. Some of my crushes have read this one and went super gaga, probably until the movie come’s out next week… and there’s no malnurished vampires in it, Hallelujah. And Jennifer Lawrence plays the main character in the movie (wait, she’s my crush too. Shriek!). I only got a .pdf file for this. Girls lend me your hearts, I mean books!

5. The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo – Stieg Larsson. Behold the only book I’ve finished so far! Click here for my awesome review.

6. The Lost Symbol – Dan Brown. For the uninitiated, this is the third novel in which Robert “super smart-ass historian” Langdon is the main character. The first was the insanely thrilling “Angels & Domons” and the second is the literary bad boy “The Davinci Code”. I pray to God ‘Symbol’ will be a good read and someone with a generous heart will bless me with a copy of this book.

7. Tuesdays with Morrie – Mitch Albom. I love his other book “5 People You Meet in Heaven”, and people are saying ‘Tuesdays’ is a better one. A good friend let me borrow her copy for a week, and that was last year. The book is still on my room at home (that’s the reason I’m not texting her).

8. Q & A (aka Slumdog Millionaire) – Vikas Swarup. When a boy loves a girl he should dig deep into her origins, just to make sure she’s the ‘one’. The same thing applies when you love a movie and danced Jai-ho after watching it. Hey I should enter that game show because so I could buy the book. Wait, what her number!?

9. Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter – Seth Grahame-Smith. Seth is a Tim Burton collaborator (screenplay), Burton is a friend/producer of the Russian guy directing the movie (how do I pronounce Timur’s surname?). These fellas share only two characteristics in common: born badass and they are sure like hell that Abraham Lincoln killed Edward Cullen. My goodness let’s celebrate guys!

10. Steal like an Artist – Austin Kleon. Rumor has it that Addie is having an affair with this Austin guy. This is the psychotic dude who popularized vandalism in newspapers and gets away with it by calling the crime ‘Blackout Poetry’. And now he’s back to do another crime – stealing.  Man, that’s badass supreme. Now where should I steal a copy of that book?

11. Naermyth – Karen Francisco. What if Filipino mythical folk legends like tikbalang (Vice Ganda), manananggal (Cullen girl 1/2), dwende (Dagul?) and kapre (incredible hulk with a cigar) are true? And what if they decided to take over the world and eventually succeed where the sick-minded Hitler failed? Heck, as long as there are no zombies on their side that’s OK with me. It’s only less than P200 in National Bookstore, so guys buy me one.. puh-lease hehe (evil grin).

12. The Shack – William P. Young. BY THE WAY, I WANT TO THANK PM FOR SENDING ME THIS BOOK. It’s my prize from her blog contest-turned raffle draw. Of course I won, otherwise this book has no place in this list. It’s P45o on Fullybooked,  and I cant afford that, so a million thanks again to PM for sharing the book. Indeed some window-shopping dream can come true too.

My Ultimate Japanese Novel Collection.

13. Train Man – Nakano Hitori. Clueless guy saves Pretty girl. Clueless guys falls for Pretty Girl. Clueless guy ask help online. Shit happens. Moral lesson? Buy the book and let me borrow it. Save the Poor guy, that’s me.

14. Never Let Me Go – Kazuo Ishiguro.  I love the movie (oh Carey, oh Keira) and the book is Japanese. I love everything Japanese. Never Forget Me Book.

15. What I Talk About When I Talk About Running – Haruki Murakami. I love running, I love Haruki Murakami, I loke Japan. And you already have the key to my heart (as long as you buy me that book).

So there goes my 15 books that I’m practically begging from you. I’m still undecided for the remaining five books so if you have books out there feel free to send it over to me and share the love. May the odds be ever be on your side, because you have a good heart, I knew that before I even ask I can already feel the pages on my hands. Ok enough with this shameless book-raising silliness and get back to work.

Note: The article I was referring in the introduction is ‘Catch a man who reads‘, the plagiarism controversies have forced the Philippine Daily Inquirer to remove the article in their website. But anyways, that’s one really good article that makes male book lovers suddenly look like the perfect guy ala Italian men. Hmm (thinking of Jean Dujardin in the “The Artist”)… not bad.

Comments
  1. bagotilyo says:

    dami mo ng nabasa pre… hahaha

    minsan tamad akong magbasa,minsan masipag, minsan naman wala lang akong pambili or mas inuuna kong bilin ang kung ano2 bago ang libro. Kaya bilang pa sa daliri ang nabasa kong libro..haha

    but I really love reading 😀

    And let’s face it, reading makes a person smarter. <—-so true ..

    • lapiskamay says:

      andami nga isa palang. ahhaha. Dragon tatto palang natapos ko pare eh. eh 20 yung kelangan ko matapos sa taon kong toh. dude help.

      Oo na, tamad din kasi ako. bisi-bisihan palage. 🙂 pare baka gusto mo akong bilhan ng libro. hahaha

  2. wow natutuwa ako pag may nakikilala akong ahilig magbasa.

    nakaka-engganyo. medyo mahilig ako magbasa pero hindi novel. pero sa lahat ng libro na nabanggit mo interesado ako sa 4 & 5. yung 5 napanood ko na rin, yung Swedish version. medyo boring sa start pero awesome talaga.

    • lapiskamay says:

      yey mahilig karin pala magbasa hoshi. hehe. matatalino daw ang mga girls na nagbabasa. hehe
      magbasa kanarin. di ko panakita yung swedish version ng Dragon tattoo. pero yung bago sa Hollywood maganda sobra. hehehe. xempre idol ko director eh. xempre hanep talaga.
      oi may libro ka jan? hiram ako pls. hehe

  3. LJ says:

    pretty interesting list. 🙂

    I already read The Lost Symbol, Tuesday with Morrie, and The girl with hte dragon tattoo. I really want to read The Hunger Games, the movie’s trailer make me want to read. But I still have 6 more books to finish, hahaha.. Kaya goodluck nalang sa ting dalawa.

    Enjoy Reading Lester!

    • lapiskamay says:

      ahemm.. can i borrow the Lost symbol??? (kapal talaga). o pwede swap tayo.
      oo next week na talaga showing ng Hunger games, pero walang silbi walang sinehan sa boracay. malamang wala nayan sa May. so di ko muna babasahin. heheh

      same to you sir Happy Reading!

  4. rc wave says:

    nice blog and an even nicer reading list..i have finished 8 of the books you have posted but im not interested with the other books..you should finish them fast, long over due..

  5. lapiskamay says:

    hello thanks RC, pretty name. 🙂
    thanks for dropping by. I really am trying to finish my.. second book. hahaha. Anyways, no sense of urgency yet so I’m cool for now. Any chance of knowing the books you’ve read?

  6. Jacklyn Belo says:

    ang hilig mo sa books na may movie adaptation…isama mo na rin kaya ang John Carter… i think the original title of the book is Princess of Mars 🙂 btw….where did you get an ebook copy of Girl of Dragon Tatoo?

    • lapiskamay says:

      oo. mahilig kasi ako sa movies, as in adik level. magaganda kasi stories pag.adapted from the movies, well most of them though. I heard the novel of John Carter is a classic, but i’ll watch the movie unless you’ll lend me one. hehe. I’ll send you my GDT ebook through email so you can read it.

  7. PM says:

    books are incredible little things. they can be a luxury depending on where you are in life but i’m just luck to have the chance to indulge myself in reading (the other day my man told me he spent 1300 on fullybooked because he purchased my pasalubong for the weekend, spoiler much? :D) i have read tuesday’s with morrie. it’s the kind of book you want to read over and over. the shack falls on that line too. i read it thrice already. i have a copy of lost symbol from HK, never felt like reading it though. naermyth and train man sounds interesting. i might put this on my book list too. maybe i’d just catch vampire hunter on the cinema. popper’s penguin i saw the movie and i’m not impressed. read the book and tell me what you think. sorry for the long comment! like you i am in love with books too! actually, i have a book post up. read it, i think you’d enjoy it.

    • lapiskamay says:

      wow swerte mo talaga, dami mong blessings. hehe. baka pwede akong makahiram ng the lost symbol. hehe. I’ll pay for the freight, promise. 😀
      yung Train Man sa fullybooked ko lang yun nakita when i first landed on manila for the review 3years ago. I was impressed with the synopsis, but never knew the book/story is a pop culture phenomenon in Japan.Naermyth is indeed promising, and a Filipina wrote it.. I had once a correspondence with her and told me it was supposed to be a graphic novel ala The Walking Dead, kaso it’ll take years to finish. So the novel came out. I also have a story, i think it’s a good one that needs to be told, i’m planning of making it visual like a comics, kaso i’m still not confident with my illustrating skills, plus the research process will be the most daunting. It’s my long term goal to finish it. hehe. That’s all because I fell in love with reading.

  8. Addie says:

    Excuse my un-coolness but what’s up with this Hunger Games craze? My Tumblr dashboard is overflowing with it.

    Tuesdays with Morrie. Can’t say it’s better than the other Albom books. I say, they’re equally good.

    And how dare you call my baby psychotic! Although I do love him like a love song baby, I still am not interested in getting myself a copy of Steal.

    “dwende (Dagul?)” – laflaf. so paneeh.

    Ooooh. Train Man. I got a list of books I also want to read this year and this book might make it there.

    Never Let Me Go. Seen the movie and watched it many times already. Now tempted to watch it again tonight. Ooooh, Andrew!

    • lapiskamay says:

      (Oh Carey..) hehe. hahaha. Alam mo Addie magpapakabait nako, basta bilhan mu lang ako ng books. hehe (kafal).

      Yeah Hunger games fun are mostly women and they’re quite invading my hungry Tumblr dashbored too. and when did you become ‘un-cool’? 😉

      Now you’re admitting you’re with austin all this time! So you’re an accomplice, police police! haha. He is P because why would someone got the nerves to vandalize a newspapers?? haha.

      Yeah Train Man has always been on my radar eversince I saw it, the only thing I hate about it is the price. the price dear. Can we just split the price and I’ll let you read it first.?

      • Addie says:

        Ginawa mo pa akong sugar mommy. Does the bookstore called Booksale ring a bell? That’s where I go when itching to find a new read. I don’t mind second-hands. I save a bulk of my money for shoes kase. SHOES!

      • lapiskamay says:

        “sugar mommy” i like that. hahaha. Yup i know that store it’s where I got 2 of the most powerful books I’ve read (post-Potter), perhaps you might save a few buck out there for us, i mean a new book from a bookstore. 🙂

      • Addie says:

        Not a chance, kid!

  9. nuelene says:

    I struggled to read The Hobbit and that was before I decided to watch TLOR. Yay! May adaptation to? Cool.
    The Great Gatsby-I decided to read this book after I read Murakami’s Norwegian Wood. Ay my gosh! May adaptation din to? I’m not so updated. Carrey Mulligan? She’s great in Never Let Me Go. Speaking of Never Let Me Go, I read this one because I like Kazuo Ishiguro and because of the film.
    The Girl With a Dragon Tattoo-I read this because it became bestseller after Larsson died. Bonus na lang yung movie. Ang hot ni Rooney Mara.
    Hunger Games-I know about this book since like two years ago but never read it. Last January ko lang binasa kasi may movie. Haha! Mukha talaga akong movie eh. Anyway, for me, first book lang yung maganda. Yung last 2 books, comme ci comme ca. 🙂
    Good luck to your endeavor. 20 books pa lang out of 50 ang nababasa ko. Long way to go pa.
    P.S. you love Murakami, what’s your favorite among his books? So far, ako, Sputnik Sweetheart. Dun lang ako nakaka-relate eh.

    • lapiskamay says:

      ako rin struggle din ako sa the Hobbit, tinatamad kasi ako magbasa hehe. epic yung LOTR talaga both in books and the movie., pero ewan ko lang sa the hobbit basta same team parin ang gumagawa. ehehe.
      wow dami mo na palang nabasa na books. nakoconnect mo na mga connections nila. hehe. oo puro may mga adaptation yang mga librong yan. hehe. Crush ko talaga si Carey hehe. galing nga nya sa never let me go. hehe

      • nuelene says:

        Nung first kasi, si Keira lang ang gusto ko, eh medyo may pagka-b*tch sya so nag-shift ako ng side. Haha! Sana nga, matapos ko yung goal na 50-100 books. Baka mamaya ito pang ikamatay ko. Magbasa ng madaming libro. LOL

Leave a Reply

