I posted about my top 5 post-Lenten activities to look forward to. One of them is the 15th Nestea Beach, a famous if not the most prestigious beach volleyball tournament in the country. And Nestea’s marketing campaign promised it’s going to be the best summer ever. Quite a remark, but did they meet the hype or just struck out like the epic failure called the Century Tuna SuperBods?

The 15th Nestea Beach just recently wrapped up here in the island after three days of epic beach volleyball slugfest filled with intense fun and excitement and surprises. It’s my first time to experience Nestea since there was no edition last year due to the weak economy. The last event was in 2010 titled Nestea Camp Hot (the red one). But this time around Nestea made sure to turn on the heat in Boracay.

Nestea Beach is of course a beach volleyball tournament where the top 24 teams (12 each for male and female division) face off to grab the top prize of P100,000.00 plus one year of bragging rights as the Kings and Queens of Beach Volleyball. But before these team made it out here in Boracay, the first went into a rigorous elimination rounds in their respective regions: Luzon, NCR, Visayas, and Mindanao.

Celebrity endorsers from ABS-CBN were there to spice the crowd. They are Maja Salvador, Mattheo Guidichile, Dereck Ramsey, Karylle, Bianca Manalo, Rafael Russel, Erich Gonzales and Jake Cuenca. These guys made the crowd go wild whenever they enter the court to watch or do some photo-ops. And I was like guy guys artista lang yan! The Kapamilya stars did have a lot of fun too watching the games, pictorials, the mass beach cleaning and on the last they themselves played beach volleyball! Pero idol ko si Vice Ganda who gatecrashed into the event haha, surprised guest daw.

Aside from the all-out war in the beach courts, Nestea also gave away exciting activities in the activity center. There were booths for the Plunge Game, free massage, Wi-Fi access, a celebrity photo op, and a pledge wall, plus lots of freebies. In the plunge game consumers who brought 1 litre of Nestea pitcher for P50 only are given the chance to win another one if they hit dart board and sink the mannequin figure to the drum. I bought a total of three pitchers as souvenirs for my siblings, but only tried the plunge game only once. I hit the target on first try, with beach volleyball to hit the board a short distance away, I could hit all day (I am a baseball player). There’s also the pledge wall where people can pledge anything to help keep Boracay as it is plus free photo-op. Kaye and I pledged to promote barefoot running (we are now one dark couple).

So let’s talk about beach volleyball. It was an all-out war. It felt odd to know those teams are the best of the best in the country, but if you compare them to the international level there’s really a lot of things to do  to catch, and that’s why Nestea is there for the development of the sports. Most of the kills really came from clever placing and drop shots, the latter is abused like hell in the women’s division. For the men’s is quite varied; there are power teams, defense teams and mind-game teams. But none is more special than the eventual champion, University of the Visayas (UV of Cebu) team who was simply on a league of their own. Jade Becaldo is the obvious MVP of the tourney with powerful laser-guided kills that seems to be impossible to stop; the guy is a walking adrenaline. For the women’s I think the level of play is balance and it’s everybody’s competition and they’re all wearing Speedo bikinis. Don’t get me wrong but I am not really comfortable seeing those girls in those skimpy uniforms, my God ang lalaki ng mga bilbil. The only exception to the rule is DLSU’s Jeushl Wensh Tiu who is really beautiful and with a bikini body. I briefly spoke with her before the quarterfinal match, she’s cool and down to earth (part yata ako kung bakit sila natalo, malay  nyo nadistract hehe). A few hours later I was shocked when I googled her, oh my she’s a member pala of the DLSU Lady Spikers (Lapiskamay ❤ Miss Cha Cruz!) the four-peat UAAP Champions but most of all we came from the same province, she’s from Ormoc City and I’m from Maasin City. I didn’t know I was talking to a goddess level bombshell.

Jade Becaldo in action!

Jeushl Wensh Tiu and her partner Kim Fajardo

I am very blessed to have witnessed and became a part of the Nestea Beach, as in sobrang na-enjoy ko ang event. I’m glad I stayed on the island to see some volleyball action. Btw, I’m a frustrated volleyball player, it was on elementary when I didn’t made it in the team coached by my father (I really hate to fail my dad) and ever since I stayed away from the game except for P.E. classes, but other than volleyball I think I’ve done great in every sports I tried. Until Nestea came that I got this sudden wave of inspiration to learn and enjoy volleyball.

Now that Nestea Beach 2012 is all but over (after a great victory party last night a Club Paraw) I can’t help but miss the excitement, the cheers, the volley action, the fan-girl screams for Derek, the sight of blue posters, blue tents, blue singlet, blue bags, blue uniforms etc. The past three days of Nestea Beach was really a lot of fun, an absolutely great experience for me and probably to everyone else who was there. It’s really more than a volleyball tournament but it is a celebration of summer, sportsmanship, friendship, and active lifestyle through sports and community development.

Best Summer Ever? Hell yeah! I’ll certainly be back for next year, di bale na magduty ng Holy Week.

ang bago kong inspirasyon para manood ng TV. hehe
Go Jeushl!

Note: The pictures which doesn’t bare my face are not mine. So special thanks to the Nestea Beach Official Facebook and Twitter Page. Image of my Miss Tiu are from the DLSU Lady Spikers Official Facebook page.

Comments
  1. PM says:

    ang saya naman niyan!

  2. lapiskamay says:

    haha. Go PM! mas maganda pumunta dun during Holy Week and Nestea Beach next year. Oo umalis na ako ng Boracay, mission accomplished na ako dun. hehe

  3. amoris adamo says:

    How does the rfid digital id exactly works? Thanks

    • lapiskamay says:

      we first lined in for registration using our fb page (to get massive freebies), contained in the rfid ballers are the info, perhaps access, to that fb page. there are photographers in there who takes photos using a special rfid enabale samsung phone. after taking the shot, we just swipe our ballers against the phone and the picture will automatically be shared into your fb wall. pretty cool.

  4. Ang sarap-sarap-sarap-sarap naman nito! 😦

    • lapiskamay says:

      hehehe. masara Nestea, i mean biglang sumarap. hehe. C2 ako dati eh. pero converted na ko to Nestea and Beach Volley. haha. masarap din si Bianca. haha ❤

  5. hmmm hindi ako sporty type pero masarap manood nito. Nakaka-inspire maging fit at mag-try.

  6. whitegray sands says:

    Cute talaga yang si Wensh Tiu, especially around the eyes. Simple lang pero parang she resembles Karylle Tatlonghari.

Leave a Reply

