Lapiskamay Project Week #05: Epic

Posted: August 8, 2012 in Drawing, Events
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Hello everyone! Thank you for waiting for the fifth installment of Lapiskamay Project, my humble take on art and altruism, where drawing is free and for all (and not really on time). I would like to apologize for the delay because by that weekend I was nowhere near from finishing the first piece and spending a heavy dose of Olympic Games! But I sure did made some progress by finishing three drawings/paintings.

The first one comes from the request of Jacky of Green Girl Mag to draw the character named Elphaba from the Wizard of Oz universe. Elphaba is the green-skinned Wicked Witch of the Witch. Her infamous theater version sings epic notes. However, the said witch is not a part of Sam Raimi’s upcoming film “Oz: The Great and The Powerful”. I approached the character in a sexy and sober way and stayed away from any mischief she’s capable of. I don’t know if I ever achieved that haha. The art piece is made using extensive charcoals and a little bit of watercolor for the green skin.

Elphaba The Wicked With of the West

The second piece of art is my visual rendition of “Mama” written by Marry Federis of Aking Panulat (My Writings) blog. The source material is a really good and sentimental essay about a daughter’s regrets to all the craps she threw on her mother – that sort of epic reflection stuffs. Despite as an urgent request, it took me a few days to draw it becuase I wasn’t sure how to visualize it and I’m not really good at drawing women. It’s a full pencil sketching while I was watching Kung Fu Panda, thinking of strategies to beat a boss in a Prince of Persia game, and stalking a really hot Olympian. I’m an epic multi-tasker.

And this is it, the final one, probably the most ambitious undertaking I’ve ever done and it could be unfinished yet. Yes, I’m saving the best for last, and the one I’m most guilty about delaying making this piece. Sir Ivan of TheWaterWithNoMouth asked me to draw about his sort of  recent progress in the game called love. He’s actually working in Dubai, the ‘she’ is in Quezon City and things aren’t really… ah wait I should not be talking about that! This art form is sort of a gift by him to her, which is sweet and sweat for me. But in the name of love I summoned some concept arts from Middle-Earth and the tile design in our bathroom to create this special, special piece of self-proclaimed art! It’s a combination of both pencil sketching and watercoloring.

“From Dubai With Love”

I’m really proud of the outcome, I found it beautiful and felt massive looking at the picture. As I have said this is an ambitious project that has a lot of rooms for expansion. Perhaps when I become a really good artist, I’ll come back to this one and make it bigger.

The Lapiskamay Project has been a very good outlet for me to express my inner somethings, and of course a great ground for me to practice my art. I can never say thank you enough to all those who have sent their ideas and suggestions. They have helped me a lot in many ways that words fails to express. So guys who haven’t sent me anything yet, you better bring it on – I’ll be ready. When I launched the project I really nobody would give a care about it. But somehow here I am on my fifth week still doing business for free and never felt so happy by doing something to make others happy.

That to me is Epic.

Comments
  1. I can’t thank you that much sir! kukulangin pa ang thank you para dito 😀 i really appreciate it sir! naalala ko tuloy yung story behind taj mahal(not really in to the tragic details of the story.. :)) ). More power to you! God bless!

    • Lapiskamay says:

      hello po, maraming salamat sa pag.supporta! ang ganda kasi ng idea nyo kayo tinudo ko narin ang effort. Nakakataba ng puso na malamng nagustuhan nyo ang gawa ko. Di ko pa nabasa ang story ng Taj Mahal, parang exciting ah. Well, sana maging maganda ang kalalabasan ng relationship nyo. Thanks again.

  2. Addie says:

    I find the third illustration to be very controversial. Hm. My personal favorite among the three is Elphaba The Wicked With of the West. She reminds me of Angelina Jolie’s official look as Maleficent. Grrrrreen.

    • Lapiskamay says:

      hehe I heart about that movie too, but I never though Angie would be green there… i wonder how sleeping beauty got in serious sleep.
      hala.. how come it’s controversial? did put something racist? (panic mode)

  3. My favorite is the one of Elphaba — I recommend reading the book …the theatre version is great too!

  4. potsquared says:

    the best ka talaga lester… two thumbs up!

  5. JackieB says:

    Thank you Lester for sharing your talent :)) I’m sure marami pa magrerequest :)) I have no related post yet for the illustration but I’ll use it in my fb page for sure 😀 I haven’t heard about Sam Raimi’s upcoming film “Oz: The Great and The Powerful” . All I know Elphaba is the protagonist of the Broadway play Wicked based on a novel which tries to show the other side of the wicked witch in The Wizard of Oz. She is really an inspiring female fictional character…. more power to your lapiskamay project! 🙂 How about making a comic strip? 🙂

    • Lapiskamay says:

      you’re very welcome Jackie! looking forward for that post about the character! I havent read from you pa about Lisbeth Salander, she’s an intriguing character.
      Ah Wicked pala yung title ng play, that’s a popular show ha. ibang klase pala salamanka nya. hehe.
      I’m really thinking about making a comic strip. I have a couple of storie on my mind, sana nga magawa. hehe

Leave a Reply

