The Perks of Working in my Hometown

Posted: September 27, 2012 in Journals
Tags: , ,

Let’s talk about work. I’m not the kind of blogger, friend or even a son who talks about work, the act of doing something to earn a living. Trust me I’m not doing anything illegal like robbing banks or stealing taxes. It’s just I think I’m not the fitting enough at what I’m doing; not because my performance sucks because I as what Wolverine loves to say, “I’m the best there is at what I do. But what I do best isn’t very nice.” Not really nice when your heart and soul is somewhere but there. I still wake up everyday looking forward for the day to end so that I can again draw and write to my heart’s desire.

First things first. I just abandon-ship my pursue for that particular government position I’ve been chasing for years. I think I’ve been a victim of an idiotic recruitment system. The trouble with aiming for a spot in public service of the Republic of the Philippine is that you don’t need to meet all the credentials and bruhaha paperworks.  It takes a “backer” to get in. So there goes my requirements; medical, academic, lincense, psychological, drug test, clearances and my previous employment – all into the abyss called the trash can. Why did they even have to bother us people to process those, those many interviews and exams which took years to complete when they’re just looking for a b______?  We call that “backer” or the “palakasan” recruitment system, it’s not written in the constitution or anywhere but that is what is happening out here in my town, in this province, in this region, and in this country.

On the second thought, it’s election season next year and I have a gut feeling that the budgeted plantilla went to some political machinery (election campaign doesn’t come cheap, especially when you’re buying the votes). Oops! Am I still aloud to say these things? You know after our brilliant-like-hell lawmakers recently passed the idioticCybercrime Law“.

Now let’s go back to work, which is talking about my work. I also forego working for a great nonprofit organization in Cebu City.  That means I just freakin’ threw away the chance of working again in that beautiful city and yes a CIA scholarship in the process. So goodbye for now Japanese language school, beautiful girls in the jeeps, SM and Ayala, and the rush of  running lifestyle.

I decided to go home. And work there.  I don’t know for how long, or if this is even the real deal. I’ll just keep my radar on if there’s a plantilla for a CPA in our province. But the company I’m working in now is is not an ordinary organization  though; it’s a big one, hoarder of prestigious regional and national industry awards and is really  dead-serious in making the community and the people’s quality of life a better one. It’s a great honor to be a part of their mission. I hope I could help them in many positive ways, and in any way I can because I have bigger plans for this organization. The salary is the same to what I used to receive in Cebu, but I don’t have to spend a single dime on transportation, apartment rent and food. That’s the perks of working local.

But before I go to sleep, I have to come to terms with the real situation; I am in exile. I’m nowhere near where I want to be. The Filipino culture have embraced the notion that the bright young people are bound  to work  have brighter future out there somewhere, far away away from this small town, or even in this desolate country. Those who are left are the unambitious or anything below the concept of a good career. My heart yearns to go abroad too because I want to see the world too and experience other cultures, but only as a traveller, not an OFW.  Yet I decided to stay after job-surfing around the country the past three years. Maybe, there is a calling for me here somehow, somewhere just waiting to present itself to me.

It’s not difficult to imagine that I’m as good as a laughingstock now to my peers and they’ll never stop asking why I’m not working in the big cities or even abroad.  I  feel a little embarrassed when comparing earnings, my total income for the whole year cannot even match the amount my best friend earns in a month abroad! I just told him my salary is just a compensation from keeping me away from my drawing board.

But I really don’t care if other people looks down on me for not leaving, because I know I’m working hard and honestly here and I am not stepping on somebody else’s shoes. I just want to help and to serve, that makes me happy and satisfied.  I guess that’s the perk that’s really worth the sacrifices I am making.

Comments
  1. renxkyoko says:

    As long as it’s an honest job ( not much of that in the Philippines, so I hear ) then you’re okay.

    • Lapiskamay says:

      there are still plenty of honest jobs, and plenty of honest workers here,.. although too few are getting paid what they deserved to have a bright future. but yeah, what i’m doing as long as it’s honest is what really matters. 🙂 thanks

  2. james says:

    working close to home means helping those that are in need most. yan ang tunay na bayani. sa mga panahong ito na ang ating bansa ay naghihikahos mas kailangan natin tulungan ang ating kababayan.

  3. lunatica says:

    i feel you! that feeling when you know you’re (very) good and yet you’re still not earning as much as your friends. which somehow makes you feel like a bummer of some sort. in the end, iisipin mo na lang na what matters most is that you’ve helped your country even in your own little way.

    • Lapiskamay says:

      maraming salamat po kaibigan sa iyong generous words. sana nga makatulong din ako kahit papano sa aking komunidad. kakamiss nga lang yung mga gala moments sa siudad at sa boracay. hehe. sana nga worth it ang sakripisyo. 🙂

  4. PM says:

    c’mon les, don’t think about what others will say. as long as you’re okay with what you do then that’s the only thing that matters.

    • Lapiskamay says:

      for a moment i dont know how to reply to your comment, but i guess it helped at the end. i’m not even ok with what am doing, basta tiis2 lang, and wait and see what’s at the end of the tunnel. thanks for dropping bye!

  5. mirrorprincess says:

    hey yah! here’s my answer to your questiong number 10… hehehe http://mirrorprincess.wordpress.com/2012/09/27/minsan-nagsintemyento-ako/

  6. jackieB says:

    sabi ni Joel Osteen, “Bloom where you are planted.” My brother used to work in Cebu but found a better opportunity back in Tacloban. I don’t really envy my peers who have high paying jobs. I envy people who earn less but find fulfillment in their jobs 🙂

    • Lapiskamay says:

      sana maging good plant ako dito. hehe. astig naman ng last sentence mo, apparently di talaga applicable sakin. hehe. iba talaga yung getting paid for the things you love. 🙂
      i

  7. jlapis says:

    I think we need more people like you in our country, you know, those working in Provinces and not just congregating in and congesting the cities.

  8. potsquared says:

    do what you want to do.. never let others intimidate you.. believing in yourself is the first step in reaching your dreams.. then others will believe in you for fulfilling them.. you have a gift and by sharing them, people are inspired…

    • Lapiskamay says:

      talent ko talga kuya pots ang maghasik ng lagim, sana ma.ishare ko sa buong mundo ng bonggang bongga. nyahaha. di joke. ang problema din kasi saken, masyado akong belib sa sarili kahit di swak pa sa kakayanan kaya yun.. hehe. kumusta na nga pala kayo ni Miss Ganda at ni Manong. 🙂

      • potsquared says:

        ok yan.. kailangan talaga ng confidence para magtuloy tuloy ang success..

        si miss maganda at si manong ay hindi ko na uli nakita.. salamat naman.. ehehehehehe

  9. […] like never before:  a dark one. I don’t know but I feel like spending this Christmas at home, on exile, seems a bit off or strange or not really what I imagined to end this Year of the Dragon. I think […]

  10. […] along the way, as I discovered a new path, comes new faces, new inspirations, new friends and new experiences. And after a long series of […]

Leave a Reply

