Of Souls and Counting Faces

Posted: October 7, 2012 in Drawing, Journals
Tags: , , , , ,

I decided to have a break in deciphering the fine art of watercoloring; for now I’m back in being the Pencilhands that I am, someone who specializes in, well, pencils. No I ain’t giving up waiting colors, (although I have to admit I really suck at that) it’s just I have this vision to draw someone’s face, someone who once touched my soul and made me happy… you know that sort of stuffs. I’m no crazy man, but I’m attempting to capture someone else’s soul in a sketch pad.  My rationale for this particular is that maybe she’ll comeback and reach out to me again, in any way she like.

from Amazon.com

I just miss her. And I really don’t want to spend another Christmas unhappy.

But Houston we have a problem. Drawing realistic faces takes a long time to learn, for the gifted ones we’re talking about months, but for mortal men like me it could takes years to be considered competitive at it. I have to learn rendering the most minute of details in a face, the proportions, the curves, the strokes, the highlights and shadows of blending pencils that separates a Pokémon to a Portrait.

I’m aiming to be good at it by Christmas. That’s my first project for this Yuletide season. Let’s call it The Face Project.

By the way, here’s a watercolour painting I made to make fun of my former hotel co-worker. Her eyebugs doesn’t seem to disappear despite being a notorious sleeper, and she’s wearing a red bandana under the sun in the paradise island of Boracay? Ha!


Now back to black and white, I’m learning to draw portraits with a self-help book titled “Draw Real People” by Lee Hammond. I got that book from BookSale for under P150. I already made some progress, slow but still a progress nonetheless. And you should know up front that I have NEVER drawn a face before. So here’s my first two attempts.

If you’ve been following my previous works, you may noticed that I am one of those badasses who doesn’t draw (or paint) for no special reason at all. So who are those girls to merit the privilege (or the misfortune) of being my maiden test subjects?

Girl #1. Here name is Seldy. I met her only once in my entire life at a tennis court once summer afternoon. She was the Sharapova and I’m the ballboy. Man she’s gorgeous and so damn beautiful. I think it was a love at first sight. Ha! Umamin din. Then a few days ago or should I say 9 years, 5 months and 29 days later I saw her again. In Facebook. Girl#2 is the Taiwanese actress Kwai Lun-Mei in a role in “Secret” directed and starred by Jay Chou. That movie meant a great deal to me, and she was the shining star in there.

It’s been said that the eyes are the windows to the soul. In illustrating portrait it’s the most crucial aspect, no wonder I’m struggling at it the most. The quest in capturing a soul has only just began, it’s a long way to go but comes December I’ll have to draw her face. It will be hard, but I just have to make it anyway and I’m going to place my heart on it. I’m just hoping I wont screw up so badly that she’ll end up haunting me!

Merry Christmas everyone!

 

Comments
  1. You’re getting better and better sir! galing! Cheers!

  2. potsquared says:

    ayun may nabasa akong love at first sight!! ahahahaha!! galing mo lester! keep it up!

    • Lapiskamay says:

      hahaha, ay nakita mo yun!? hahah. shh wag mong ipagkalat ha, matagal na akong nakaget.over nun. hehe. maraming salamat kuya. hehe. watchout po kayo sa mga next post ko.

      • potsquared says:

        oo ba.. naka abang naman ako lagi.. late nga lang.. ehehehhe… teka. naka get over nga ba? eh parang bilang na bilang yung taon, buwan, araw, oras, minuto, segundo, lugar, suking tindahan at lagda nung sinabi mo nung huli kayong nagkita.. ikaw na talaga lester!! ehehehehehe…

      • Lapiskamay says:

        nako inieskandalo mo naman ako kuya eh. hehe. pramis matagal na yun, move on nako after a few months nun. hahaha. madali kasi tandaan ang date, i mean petsa na yun. ayee! kinikilig naman ako sa mga pinagsasabi mo eh. hehe parang don romantiko ang dating ko tuloy. haha

  3. Gen says:

    These sketches are awesome 🙂

  4. Rhence says:

    Wow. There seems to have huge improvements Lester! Amazing! Keep it up. Galing galing. ikaw na. 😉

    • Lapiskamay says:

      wah! mahal na talaga kita, nakakataba naman yang sinabi mo ehehe. hopefully nga magtuloy-tuloy natog improvements (para kumita naman). ^_^

      • Rhence says:

        Hahaha. No worries! Aba. Accountant/Artist! Ikaw na. Haha. 🙂 Practice more, ano pa’t mapi-perfect mo din yan 🙂

      • Lapiskamay says:

        hehe wala kong plano padamihin buntot ng pangalan ko ha. hehe.
        madami talgang salamat, ang sweet mo talaga. 🙂

  5. bagotilyo says:

    hindi n ko makapghintay makita ang sketches mo this december 🙂

    You’re getting there idol … Ayos!

  6. […] Of Souls and Counting Faces […]

Leave a Reply

