A Dark Christmas Coming

Posted: December 9, 2012 in Books, Events, Journals
Tags: , , , ,

hpim3521

Assuming the world will not END on the 21st of the month, I am likely going to spend a Christmas like never before:  a dark one. I don’t know but I feel like spending this Christmas at home, on exile, seems a bit off or strange or not really what I imagined to end this Year of the Dragon. I think I screwed up too much this year that I really deserve to slow down, take a breather,  get back to my roots and come up of a better game plan in the game called life. I still feel lost after all these years of wandering. And I have no plans on finding that promised Path, yet. I have no plans to be merry either.

But for the same reasons I am planning something new this Holidays. I won’t party around, no alcohol, cut some calories and as much as possible no travelling and adventures. I have to cut down on my costs to save for a Vietnam trip next year. So to do that here’s a list of the major activities for an economical-not-so-merry Christmas.

  1. Gift Cutting – I’ve always been a generous giver all the time (ironically not much of a receiver hahaha). So no Kris kringles, no surprises for friends, no extravagant Noche Buena ideas, no solicitations accepted and sorry kids I won’t be giving you some monies for the carollers. God I’ve spent millions of centavos crafting The Great Parol Project and the Parol Project 2.0 (the one above for my company, it’s a pair) so the only kids I’ll be giving some heartfelt gifts are my brothers.
  2. Play video games, a lot – who says playing video games is a freakin’ bad idea? I fell in love with gaming just this year so why not spend some more during the Holidays hehe. I’m really really excited to play Assasin’s Creed 3 and Call of Duty: Black Ops 2, two of the best games released this year. The gaming experiences for both games are no doubt top-notch based on the reviews and the way I enjoyed their earlier instalments. But what I’m really after in these games are the STORY, its better than watching stupid movies and stupid telenovelas.   
  3. Play with Fire’ – Ahm no… I aint planning to get involve in illicit love affairs! Haha, I just want to read ‘The Girl Who Played With Fire’ by Stieg Larsson. The book is the second instalment of the Millennium Trilogy, and based on what I’ve heard it’s the darkest and meatiest part of the series. I can’t imagine how dark and better it would be since the first one, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, is absolutely beautiful (including the Hollywood adaptation). It’s likely going to be a feel-bad reading, and I’m perfectly ok with that. 
  4. Night Running – Four months ago, I reluctantly accepted a job offer here in my hometown. At the same time, I also stopped running  unceremoniously for no reason at all. Well, I can’t really blame my work since it’s really not that hard and I love my work. Maybe I just got tired or felt lonely running alone, with no other runners in sight every time, all the time. The result of this 4-month hiatus is measured in 20 extra pounds and four extra inches on my waist. Great, never felt so ‘taba’ all my life. Have to run again, and harder to get back into shape by summer. I don’t really run the morning because I’m a late night owl, so I have to run from now on at NIGHT, under the Christmas lights. Night Running

 

So there goes my grand schemes for this Christmas. They’re boring and not really badass, I know, but I guess not pursuing exciting stuffs might help me see the bigger picture. Merry Christmas everyone and may this one be a little special and merrier than mine. I’m serous, really.

Now where are my gifts, people? Hahaha

 

Comments
  1. CrazyFrog says:

    Merry Christmas! ^_^

  2. cheesecake says:

    Tatapusin ko lahat ng ps3 games ko sa holidays. Lol.

  3. jackieB says:

    boring is sometimes synonymous to peaceful 🙂 also running during evening is better than the morning kasi sa morning may tendency na kumain ng masmarami after jogging, hehe… happy reading on the girl who played with fire…. there are so many names and revelations in there and its kinda ‘bitin’ 😀

    • Lapiskamay says:

      yup, i’m planning to spend this Christmas quietly and peacefuly. Thanks Jackie! kaso ang hirap din tumakbo dito sa gabi, i’m afraid of the dark. hahaha. ok kasi nun sa Cebu at Boracay, bright lights areas kasi doon.
      excite na nga din ako sa magbasa ng played with fire, pero in fairness ha parang stand alone talaga ang ‘Dragon Tatto’ parang happy ending na yun eh. let’s see anong pakulo ang nag.aabang sakin dun.
      AT Pahiram naman ng book mo Jackie! hehe

Leave a Reply

