The Ravest of Them All

Posted: August 24, 2013 in Events, Journals, Photography
Tags: , , , , ,

rrcover

How does it feel to get published? Well, I don’t really know how to describe the feeling. It’s more of something that meant to be experienced first hand. But I guess there’s always a certain sense of accomplishment.  I’ve  been published a few times already both on local and national papers. But one of my favorite published stuffs  was my last year’s first magazine appearance for the Runner’s World magazine. And just this month I’ve done it again!

This time I feel so Badass. Please see the picture below:

IMG_8105

This time it’s a full two page extravaganza baby! I’m a subscriber of Runner’s World Philippines because I’m a runner and I do get a lot out of their pages.  I am always fascinated with their first column called “Rave Run” of every issue. It’s a two page section dedicated to photography capturing the beauty of running from every places runners go. Last summer I told myself “What if I try to be next Rave Runner?

The next thing I remember, I contacted my friend and photographer Kuya Domz if he wants to shoot something for a magazine (that may not even see the light). He said yes.  Then came the tricky part: Where? I am currently living in my hometown,  and still with my parents (oops). It’s a sleepy town, but it’s a sleepy province anyway.  The running population in my are is actually about two (2) people, which is me and my running buddy, Kuya Herbie which I also dragged into the project.  So where in this land can we possibly shoot the next Rave Run? We climb the mountain.

Just in the next town there is this new mighty bridge called the Agas-agas Bridge.  It’s lovely out there, nice view, killer sunset, awesome sunrise and probably the craziest zipline in the country. In other words, it’s a Pork barrel well spent. No wonder it’s the new tourism poster boy for Southern Leyte. The goal of the project transformed from a personal “i-want-to-get-published” crusade to a bold move to promote my province and, this is a long shot, spread the love of running here.

I submitted a few pictures to the publishers and thankfully they replied this:

reply

 

And in the next few weeks our pictures started popping in the Runner’s World official Twitter and Facebook pages – as cover photos. Never felt so badass baby. Jaw-drops. I can hear Staples Centers applauding.  I am so damn proud to see my crazy idea turned into something real, even publishable. Dreams do come true, don’t they?

Untitled-2

Untitled-1

The July – September issue of Runner’s World PH magazine is currently available in all major bookstore nationwide. It sells only P150.  Buy na!

Comments
  1. renxkyoko says:

    Congratulations! That is indeed an accomplishment. Cheers !

  2. Angel says:

    Thanks also for sending us your entries and being a loyal RW fan! 🙂

  3. I would like to follow in your footsteps. . . I just need more time to actually dedicate to writing!

Leave a Reply

